Managing a Michigan DBA
Once you apply for a Michigan DBA online or offline, it will facilitate the ability to transact your business within the state using the said assumed name or DBA. Each state has its own laws and regulations concerning trade names or DBAs. These laws are also applicable for the renewal, changing, or canceling of an assumed name or DBA in the jurisdiction or state where you are planning to conduct your business. Let’s look at the various processes applicable to managing Michigan DBA online applications.
How to renew Michigan DBA?
An assumed name or DBA (Doing Business As) name is valid till December 31 of the 5th full calendar year following the date of name registration. So if you filed your assumed name certificate in Michigan on January 16, 2023, then it will expire on December 31, 2027. The form for a renewal is the same as the registration form, i.e., Certificate of Assumed Name. The renewal fee will be the same as the registration fee, which is $10 for corporations and $25 for limited liability companies.
How to change a Michigan DBA?
After filing a DBA in Michigan, changing the assumed name is possible, but the process will require you to contact the county in which the business is located or is operating from. You will have to file a DBA or assumed name change request with the office of the county clerk. Once you have applied for a name change, you will need to update the information on all official documents like the corporation bylaws or LLC operating agreement, business bank accounts, business licenses and permits, and you will also need to notify the IRS of name change.
How to cancel a Michigan DBA?
If you want to cancel or withdraw a Michigan assumed name or DBA at any given point in time, then it is possible through a different process. You will be required to submit the Certificate of Termination of Assumed Name with the Michigan Department of Licensing And Regulatory Affairs, Corporations, and Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau. There is a non-refundable fee of $10 for corporations and $25 for limited liability companies.