Now that your business is registered in the state of New Mexico, when can you begin operations? A business ideally can begin operating only after they have acquired a business license or a permit to operate or transact in the said state. At the same time, it is important to remember that not all types of businesses require a license.
New Mexico Business License Requirements
You are probably thinking how you would find out if your business requires a license or a permit or both? Who is responsible for issuing business licenses in New Mexico? These are important questions and hence, we have created a guide that will help you answer some of these questions.
Here is a step-by-step approach towards acquiring New Mexico company license:
Step#1: The Industry or Business Type
The state of New Mexico provides business licenses and permits to different types of businesses. The type of industry or the activities of a business helps in identifying the type of business license required. Different licenses are issued by different state departments. Let’s look at an example to understand this well.
Types of License based on Industry
Alcohol and Gaming – Alcohol and Gaming Division
License fee varies according to the type of establishment. For instance, a Wholesaler license for all types of liquor is $2,500 while a Wine Bottler license fee is $500. There is a separate fee for violations and penalties.
Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies – Financial Industries Division
The fee for domestic companies is $400 and that of foreign business entities is $500.
Food service establishment – New Mexico Environment Department (NMED)
If you start a food service establishment then you will require a permit and not a business license.
The different types of license or permit issued by NMED are:
- Retail Food
- Manufactured Food
- Temporary food establishment (TFE)
- Tribal Foods
- Home-Based Food Processor
Note: At the same time, it is important to know that there are certain businesses that may require county or city clerk issued licenses instead of state licenses.
These are some of the categories for which statewide licenses are issued. Click here to check for other NM state licenses.
Step#2: Licenses issued by County
If your business type or service offered doesn’t fall under a statewide license then you will have to check with the local county office. Let’s take a look at an example to understand this better.
If you establish a business in the City of Bloomfield, NM and the focus area of your business is Outdoor/special events then your New Mexico company license will be issued by the City Clerk office.
There is a late fee of $10 on license renewals. The license fee varies according to type of business or service, for example, the fee is $35 for a food vending vehicle (per vehicle).
It is important to note that if, the city clerk after an inspection determines that the issuance of a New Mexico business license will be in conflict with the city, state or federal laws then the chances of the license application being denied will be higher.
Step#3: License Issued
How can you get your license or permit issued? Once you have identified the type of business, industry or service being offered, you need to download the application form and submit it along with the fee to the right authority. You can search here for a state business license type. You can also contact the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Authority for most of the state licenses. The fee and renewal date will vary according to business type.
On the other hand, if you were to start a business in the City of Roswell then the Business License Clerk in the Code Enforcement Department will be responsible for issuing of the license. The license fee is $35 for Commercial Businesses and the renewal is on the last day of the months of March, June, September, and December (of every year).